My Island Leguan Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thanksgiving Day in Canada October 9, 2011

Filed under: Reunion-Success-CMSchool — Leguanite @ 2:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

There are lots of Guyanese living in Canada and today most of them will be eating turkey in addition to all the other Guyanese side-dishes – curry, rice, chow mein and so on.

I remember Thanksgiving at St. Barnabas Church in Phoenix where I was confirmed in as a child, during Thanksgiving Sunday people brought offerings from their farm to offer to the Church – plantains, eddoes, yams, bananas, fruits and so on.  This was then sold to the parishioners and the money went to the Church funds.

Today I thought of some of my old school friends and wondered if I would ever see or hear from them again. The internet is a great tool for connecting but you have to be connected – I thought of Rohan Tiwari, the Tiwaris lived over the bridge in a little house,  Prahalad, Sheila, Tiny, Dyah (Diah) and all the people of Phoenix who lived close by or whom I went to school with.

I think we ought to plan a reunion of students from Success CM School – that would be fabulous for our little villages. We can have a big day feeding the children providing books, gifts and so  while we all have a great time eating and drinking in the old village. How about that? Any takers who feel the same way. We have to start thinking of how to give back to our community that nurtured us as children.  Let’s start the ball rolling.  Let’s give thanks by sharing what we have with those who have not.

 

5 Responses to “Thanksgiving Day in Canada”

  1. Lloyd Says:

    I am all for it, Yes we do need to give back to our village (Theriens to Phoenix). We are blessed to have had the opportunity to grow up in such a wonderful place. Looking forward for updates.

    Thanks
    Lloyd.

    • Leguanite Says:

      This might sound huge but I was in Leguan last summer and Success School could do with a bit of overhauling. This could be a project we can work on. We can raise funds to repair the school stock it with a great library and other amenities that way all the children from Thierens to Phoenix will benefit. We can adopt our old school and ensure that the next generation are given a chance to move forward and build a ever advancing community for themselves and their children. That would be so nice.

  2. Rohan Says:

    Hi Elsa, this is Rohan Tiwari. It is so nice to be remembered. I am interested in helping in any way I can and definitely keeping in touch. Say hi to Jaideo! Best regards my friend and neighbour.

    • Leguanite Says:

      How are things ans where are you now I think we should really try to help Leguan as much a we can. Such fond memories of growing up on the island with peaceful, friendly and loving folks. Happy New Year. Hows the rest of the family?

      • Rohan Says:

        Hi Elsa ,its Rohan
        How could you forgnet that I was living across the road from the Cardigans? When my dad passed away I
        bought old manja house beside Mabel and Adolphus Tieschmaker. I remember your whole family ,including all. the Archers in Phoenix.I must say how much I enjoy your conversations.It awakens the depths of my boyhood memories in Leguan- my mother,s land (my mother was born Leguan in 1916) I am now living in Brampton ,Ont in Canada.Just to shed some more light on your article on- Joe’s grocery shop The man,s name was Joe Chulie. His sons were Ovid,Babsie,Polo,Ramo,Hardat and I think there was one more .His only daughter was Verna.His wife was auntie Buck and his mother -in law was Kumbie . (We called her Nannie). Just a reminder for my wonderful nieghbour. Love to hear more from nice people like you.Keep our sweet memories alive. We need to talk. PS.. I talked to Bonnie Austin before the holidays. Until…………..loll


Leave a Reply

