My Island Leguan Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Passages September 8, 2012

Filed under: death-announcements — Leguanite @ 12:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

For those of you who are from Phoenix just want to let you know that Gladstone (Herman) Hubbard died recently. I believe he was suffering from some kind of cancer. He was the son of Priscilla and Joshua Hubbard, his brothers were Rannie, Buddy, Leon and Shelly and sister Norma and Paulette. He died in the USA.

Also teacher Purity of Enterprise School died not too long ago as well  The old is making space for the younger ones I suppose.

May their souls rest in peace. May we continue to be better people as we grow because  at the end of the day it is not how long you live but how well you live.

 

3 Responses to “Passages”

  1. Oh! Quite sad news to read about. May the soul of Gladstone (Herman) Hubbard as well as Purity rest in peace and light perpetual shine on them. I have a very vague recollection of the late Gladstone. Purity was an educator and the godmother of my daughter. She was once our next door neighbour while she lived at Enterprise. I know her family very well. I believe that I was taught by Norma Hubbard in the early sixties while I was a student at St Peters Anglican School, Enterprise, Leguan. Oh! It will be nice to see her and have a conversation. Our i.e. my family and I would like to convey our heartfelt sympathy to all the grieving children…, relatives and friends of the late Gladstone and Purity. We hope that time will bring about healing for your irreplaceable loss and the understand that they will not be coming back. It will be essential therefore, to celebrate their life as a true testimony of their familial stewardship and community involvement.

    • Leguanite Says:

      Reginald, unfortunately you will have to see her in the next world or life or in heaven for she has passed on a while ago. But the memories of these souls live as long we do.

      • Thanks! For the information even though it made me sad. Unfortunately, I have lost contact with many of my teachers and class mates and wonder so often how can I re-establish those relationships that are in comatose? My job in Guyana caused me to work in many different communities (geographic displacement) and my visit to Leguan became less and less over the years. The situation was exacerbated by the death of both of my parents (five months apart of each other) during 1991 and my visits declined from three annually to one. My family and I are living in Ontario, Canada since 2002 but I am hoping to return to Maryville Government school in 2013 to see what it looks like. I was a student at that school and taught three years there before I attended the university of Guyana. This may be an opportunity for me to make new friends and establish a niche in the school community. May the soul of Norma rest in peace…


Leave a Reply

